Garry Smith
climbing and mountain skills
contact  /  home
rock
climbing
winter
climbing
winter
skills
scrambling about booking latest gallery
winter
gallery
summer
about

Thanks for visiting  it's a little hard writing about yourself, but here goes anyway... I'm a qualified and experienced climbing instructor (MIC/WMCI).
I'm easy to get on with and good at sharing what I know about climbing and venturing into the hills. Whatever your ability, I'm confident I can give you stacks of useful skills that will help you become a safer hill walker, climber or mountaineer.

The majority of what I do tends to be arranged on request, rather than running set courses. Most of this is instruction or guiding, for individuals as well as groups. I'm happy to arrange anything from a day's navigation training through to a multi-day winter climbing course, just ask.

If you're simply after a good day out in the hills without any teaching, that's fine too. I make sure any guided day is as good as it can possibly be. Guided hill walking, climbing and scrambling can all be arranged on a daily basis.

I'm pretty keen on anything to do with Scotland's winter mountains and have done 26 seasons instructing and guiding up north. Outside of the winter months, I get out rock climbing and into the hills whenever time and the weather allow. I've also started writing and publishing guidebooks. I'd like to think they're the type of books you can pick up and get lost in. At present this is a labour of a love rather than a shrewd business endeavour. There's more on this here

In the 'bigger hills', I've climbed alpine routes on over 125 peaks across the European Alps. After a brief hiatus I'm back on it and rediscovering just how good alpinism is for the soul. Further afield, I've climbed in the Southern Alps in New Zealand, the Cordillera Blanca in Peru, the Central Andes in Chile and on Mt Kenya. I've also been on mountaineering trips to the Nepal Himalaya, where, as soon as the opportunity arises, I'll go again.

My home is in Dinorwig, North Wales, where I live with my partner Tan. I have family in Kincraig near Aviemore, which makes it easy for me to be based in Scotland throughout the winter.